Review Vengeance Be Mine by Louisa Lo

8:44 AM

Hey Addicts, I've got another review, courtesy of Xpresso book tours. In exchange for my honest review they gifted me an Advanced Readers copy of VENGEANCE BE MINE by Louisa Lo. It's an Urban Fantasy New Adult novel, the first in a series that seems to promise a lot of greatness! Read on to see if it delivered.

Vengeance Be Mine (Cosmic Balance #1)

Megan is a typical university student trying to figure out her place in the world, except instead of hoping to pass the bar or get into med school, she’s studying to become a licensed vengeance demon. 
Nineteen-year-old Megan Aequitas is the only vengeance demon and trickster hybrid ever born. In a world where vengeance demons are respectable, rule-obsessed guardians of the Cosmic Balance, and tricksters are playful, happy-go-lucky perpetrators of chaos, being half and half is, well, tricky. 
Determined to prove herself worthy of her vengeance blood, Megan enrolls in University of Demonic Studies’ prestigious co-op program. Wreaking karmic revenge on wrongdoers from cheaters to crooks sounds fun and simple, if it weren’t for the unsuspecting human roommate, Megan’s flamboyant trickster half-brothers, a changeling-raised fellow outcast, and a trio of evil wannabes. Then one assignment turns deadly when Megan discovers a plot to unleash an ancient force so authoritarian, most creatures would be deemed too unworthy to exist. 
After a lifetime of being embarrassed by her trickster tendencies and striving to fit in vengeance society, Megan now has to learn to embrace both of her worlds if she wants to save them. 


MY REVIEW:
What can be said for VENGEANCE BE MINE by Louisa Lo? Well, a-MAZ-ing cover, great blurb that hooks a reader, fun and snappy characters, a strong voice and a diverse cast.
All very good things for this NA book that is breaking away from the mold that 90% of NA books follow, proudly declaring it's self Urban Fantasy NA.
Let's start with the heroine, Megan.
Megan is a one of a kind character--quite literally! She's part vengeance demon and part trickster, and boy does she suffer for it. Being bullied, cast aside by both sides of her heritage but she's got a strong support foundation in her parents, trickster brothers and vengeance demon sister. Megan is strong, learning to be confident and to embrace both sides of who she is. And because she spent so much of her life being bullied, it's only fitting that she start this book by standing up to the bullies within her Vengeance demon college. That's right, you heard me. I would say Megan is your typical loaner who learned to stop caring what people thought of her. Louisa Lo did a great job capturing her unique voice and creating a kick ass, snarky, loving, hilarious girl, even if Megan does fall a little into the typical mold of UF heroines.
The 3 other characters that featured prominently: Esme--Megan's half sister on her father's side who is full blooded Vengeance demon. Grandma Aequitas--her Vengeance demon grandmother. And Fir--her half brother on her mothers side and full blooded trickster.
Each of these three characters represented something very different for Megan.
Esme-- The picture of a perfect Vengeance Demon heiress who despite all prejudices and, though she doesn't really understand Megan, loves and supports her anyways. She is always there and loyal to her sister. I loved the relationship between the two girls and everything they did for each other.
Grandma A-- For Megan, she's the very picture of all the hate and bigotry that has been thrown at her her entire life. Yet as we discover, things are not always what they seem. This matriarch of Vengeance perfection has a lot of hidden layers.
Fir-- I LOVED him! Despite the chaos he and his three other trickster brothers caused, I adored him. He was funny, smart and loyal. What more could you want in a big brother?
Notice I've not mentioned anything about a romance.
That's because there is none. Not really. There's this guy, Gregory, though he first introduces himself as Pete. He's a vengeance demon mercenary--those who are not accepted by the higher echelon of the vengeance demon hunter society. He's interesting because he pops up out of no where, makes a lasting impression, then randomly shows up again later. He's described as a beyond sexy and a total bad ass. He helps Megan out every time he does make an appearance, but there wasn't enough about him to really let me sink my claws into him.
That last sentence about sums up my overall feeling about VENGEANCE BE MINE. There was just enough with the characters to keep my interest, but not quite enough to make me itch for the next book.
The world building, writing style, plot, pace, character development was all well and good, but none of it was really grab a hold of me amazing. (Outside the cover)
Maybe that's because I'm the type of person who doesn't really like books that are light on romance. And this one is VERY romance light. I'm not saying I wanted all the crazy stupid college sex scenes that are so prevalent in NA. But there's something to be said for the extra layers of emotion, depth and tension that always comes with the romance dynamic.
I will read the next book in the series, but mostly to see if anything comes of the barely touched upon "relationship" between Megan and Gregory.
VENGEANCE BE MINE is perfect for fans of Urban Fantasy and kick butt heroines!
This fun new first in the Cosmic Balance series is set to release on April 30th so don't miss your chance to grab a copy!
~Dynomoon

You Might Also Like

0 comments

book show

Xpresso

Xpresso

NetGalley Advocate

Challenge Participant

YABC

Like us on Facebook

Enchanted

Enchanted
Powered by Blogger.